Oh, for the Love of…Coffee!

Vintage Inspired Coffee Ad, http://retrospector.co.uk

I love coffee. I drink it, often think about it, and even dream about the beverage! When I haven’t had it in a while, I count down the time until I get to have my next cup. You get the idea, I really like coffee!

According to legend, coffee was discovered in Ethiopia in the thirteenth century. The actual word ‘coffee’ entered the English language either from the Arabic word qahwah or the Dutch word koffie.

How do you like your coffee?

I like my coffee in a variety of ways, but I always like it strong. None of this mellow brewed coffee and definitely no instant coffee! Instant and decaf coffee are just insulting, if you ask me. So, what do I like? Organic coffee made in a presse, lattes, and of course, my vice, the mocha.

The mocha is the truly amazing pairing of a latte with chocolate (sometimes cocoa powder or chocolate syrup). Who can resist that? Or the foamy milk and whipped cream on top? One of the best mochas I had recently was an orange mocha. The mixture of the bitter coffee and chocolate with the hint of orange was incredible.

So, let’s make an orange mocha!

There are several incredible recipes online for this drink, but I prefer to keep it simple. Do check out the more complicated recipes which have orange liqueur, yum.

Ingredients:

  • Milk
  • Bittersweet chocolate, chopped (or use chocolate chips)
  • Orange slices and zest
  • Pre-pressed coffee, preferable a strong variety
  • Whipped cream
  • Cinnamon

Preparation:

  1. Heat the coffee, milk, chocolate and orange zest in a saucepan until hot. Do not let this boil.
  2. When the mixture is hot, blend it together.
  3. Froth the milk, using a frother.
  4. You may want to strain the mocha at this point, or if your orange zest pieces are large enough you can just remove them. I leave mine in.
  5. Add a slice of orange at the bottom of the mug and pour your mocha in (gives even more flavour).
  6. Add whipped cream, cinnamon and orange zest on top.

I firmly believe any time, is coffee time! And, guess what? I’m going to have some NOW!

Vintage Coffee Advert, http://ichbinsinnen.blogspot.com

Vintage Coffee Advert, http://nomoredirtylooks.com

xoxo
Black Dahlia

4 thoughts on “Oh, for the Love of…Coffee!

Leave a Reply

