Knitting Pretty: 1930s Bed Sweaters

Good afternoon readers!

Remember the post I did recently ‘Oh, for the Love of…Bed Jackets and Pajama Dogs‘? Well, today I’m going to post some patterns so you can knit your very own bed sweater or shawl. I’m a knitting novice myself and hope to one day be good enough to create something like these.

I have several knitting pattern books from the 1930s to the early 60s and will feature them on this blog. If there is a particular kind of pattern you’re looking for, let me know and I’ll see if I have it.

1930s Bed Sweaters

Three different styles below, with the patterns to download,  Knitting Pretty: 1930s Bed Sweaters (pdf). One shrug, one shawl and one full bed sweater. Enjoy!

1930s Knit Bed Sweaters

If you make one of these lovelies, do let me know and share photos!

Update: there’s also a great 1956 bed sweater pattern here.

xoxo

Black Dahlia

10 thoughts on “Knitting Pretty: 1930s Bed Sweaters

  1. Hmm, nowadays one could wear the top left one out in public without a problem. I might give it a try some time. Right now I´ve got way to many project lying around 🙂

    • Hi Katrin! One could definitely wear that sweater today. I have a similar one in a cream colour that I wear often. Sadly, I’m a novice knitter so no cute 50s style bed sweaters for me…(yet) 🙂

      BD

  2. Pingback: Knitting Pretty: 1950s Nautical Sweater! « Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Leave a Reply

