Oh, for the Love of…Umbrella Brooches!

Art Deco Umbrella, Black Dahlia's Scan

Good morning readers!

As you probably realize I have a ‘penchant’, ‘thing’ and ‘obsession’ for many, many things. I love and collect many different kinds of vintage brooches, including jelly belly brooches, flower brooches and various animal and insect pins. Today, I’m going to focus on another one of my loves, umbrella brooches.

With the introduction of novelty pins in the 1930s, umbrella brooches became very popular. I’m not sure why I love umbrella brooches so much, they just make me smile! Also, they look amazing on a vintage dress, sweater or coat.

Below we have two of my umbrella brooches. On the left, a metal, lucite and rhinestone 1930s stick pin. On the right a 1950s enamel and rhinestone umbrella pin.

Umbrella Brooches, Black Dahlia's Collection

Next we have a French Art Deco petit point umbrella brooch, with purse.

Petit Point Umbrella, Black Dahlia's Collection

This is a beautiful example of a more delicate umbrella brooch. A Spanish gold damascene brooch with dangling faux pearl.

Damascene Umbrella Brooch, Black Dahlia's Collection

Recently, on my vintage trawl, I purchased these enamel umbrella charms. I think I’ll make some earrings out of them. ;0

Umbrella Charms, Black Dahlia's Collection

You can find amazing umbrella brooches for sale on Ebay and Etsy, including the same that I have in my collection. Below, find some sweet examples  from those websites.

Singing in the rain, just singing in the rain…..

Vintage Rhinestone Umbrella Pin, Ebay decaturcoinandjewelry

Leather Umbrella Brooch, Ebay weirdship

Carved Bone Umbrella Pin, Ebay fine_antiques_collector

What a glorious feeling, I’m happy again….

Lucite and Bakelite Umbrella Pin, Etsy faciasmom

Lady Bug Umbrella Pin, Etsy therunawaypancake

Gold Rhinestone Umbrella Pin, Etsy lolanyevintage

xoxo

Black Dahlia

8 thoughts on “Oh, for the Love of…Umbrella Brooches!

    • hi i have a depose vintage/antique celluloide umbrella brooch i am about to put on eBay i was looking up info about it when i came across your page so thought i would offer it to you first if you are interested thank you.

  1. Aw, they’re so lovely!The damascene one is my favourite, I think.
    It’s great collecting specific types of things – you get such a thrill when you find another one at a thrift store or vintage fair. x

  2. Oh, my goodness! How did I miss this post?! I love, love it! Along with the jaunty lyrics! I could watch and listen to Gene Kelly for days.

    (As always, my favorites are the ones in your collections. My picks? The top three!! Pow-WOW! The Art Deco number is amazing. It’s a very good thing we don’t shop together. I’m sure our sprees would turn into fist fights! Wink!)

    Enjoy the weekend. Keep on shopping!
    Theadora

  3. Pingback: Treasure Trove « Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

  4. Lovely brooches 🙂 I am hoping you may be able to give me some advice on an umbrella brooch that I found in a small antique store. Your site is the only one that has a picture of the exact one that I found. (The Spanish 1950s point umbrella, with the dangling handbag.) I found several online that were very similar. Im just trying to learn more about it. How rare is? How much its really worth? If you can share your knowledge I would be grateful.

    Thanks,
    Krystle

Leave a Reply

