Vintage Runs in the Family

Baubles Antiques, My Mother’s Shop

In the 90s, my mother had an antique shop (Baubles Antiques) in our home that specialized in vintage clothing and jewellery. I kick myself now for not taking full advantage of the amazing items she had in the store. Apparently, as a teen, I was more preoccupied with other matters (Dr. Martens, Alice in Chains and plaid) besides vintage clothing and jewellery. What on earth was wrong with me?

Having said that, I actually do still have some vintage pieces that were given to me back then. One particular item comes to mind, a 1930s silk pajama top with moons and stars on it. To this day, over 20 years later, I still wear that PJ top as a shirt!

My mother definitely has inspired and influenced my taste in clothing and jewellery. The items she had in the shop are now items I collect. I guess the saying is true, ‘the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.’ πŸ™‚ Luckily for me, my mother has the best taste and is often adding new gems to my collection of costume jewellery, clothing, lady head vases, Fiestaware, etc. Thank you Mom! ;0

Retro Runway Fashions

However, vintage running in the family doesn’t stop there. My brother and sister-in-law own a cool retro shop in my hometown, Retro Runway Fashions. The stock is amazing and includes men’s and women’s fashions and accessories from the 40s up to the 80s. My sister-in-law, Julie, also makes her own line of products including wrap around sweaters, pants and skirts as well as purses and wallets.

Retro Runway Fashions

Black Dahlia and Julie, owner of Retro Runway Fashions

When I was home, I had the chance to visit the store and hunt for some new treasures. I didn’t end up empty-handed either! I got this amazing sheer 1940s paisley day dress and a vintage slip. I really adore this dress as it differs from most of my dresses due to the pattern and brown and beige colours. I’ve since let the hem in this dress down and it looks even better now. Thank you Sista! πŸ™‚

Black Dahlia in 40s day dress, Retro Runway Fashions

Below are two lovely early 60s dresses in my sister’s shop that I just had to share with you. Unfortunately, these dresses are way too small for me. Yet another thing that runs in the family, curves! ;0 Sometimes life just isn’t fair introduces you to pretty frocks you simply can’t have. Evil Tauntress!

60s Dresses at Retro Runway Fashions

If you’re ever visiting Nova Scotia do make the trip to Wolfville to visit Retro Runway Fashions (2 Central Ave., Wolfville). I’m certain you’ll find your own treasures there!

xoxo

Black Dahlia

10 thoughts on “Vintage Runs in the Family

  1. That shop looks lovely… I wish I had someone in my family who understands; mine all want me to dress normally!

  2. Pingback: Vrrroooom! Vintage Runs in the Family Part II « Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Leave a Reply

