Oh, It’s a Sailor’s Life for Me!

Note: This will be my last blog post for a while as my computer is broken. Luckily, I had the below post saved in draft form and can share it with you now. I hope to be back posting regularly soon. xoxo Black Dahlia

Ahoy, Mateys! Avast, Ye Swabs!

Sailorgirl BD

Oh, pardon my language dear readers. It’s just the seafarer in me speaking. Do not fear, for it only gets more threatening when I go ‘sucking the monkey’. Yes, then the true sailor in me comes out full swinging! What shall we do with a drunken sailor, early in the morning?!

In all seriousness, it is true what they say: you can take the girl away from the ocean, but you can’t take the ocean out of the girl! Or, something rather profound like that. Basically, I grew up near the ocean and I dearly miss it. I miss the way it makes the air feel and smell. I miss the fog and the sound of the fog horns at night. However, most of all, I miss the lighthouses. It is my dream to one day live in a lighthouse. Yes, you heard me correctly! I think the one below is perhaps just a wee bit small, however.

Black Dahlia’s Future Domicile?

My love of the ocean and sea definitely has an impact on my personal style. Like many ladies, I adore the vintage sailor and nautical look. I also love sailor girl pinups, as you’ve witnessed in the ‘Hey Sailor! A Look at Elvgren Pinups‘ post. It was in the Victorian period, that the sailor look became popular in fashion for women, both in swimsuits and dresses. After that, sailor chic continued to be in style and you can see wonderful sailor dresses from the early 1900s up to the mid-60s. Check out Tuppence Ha’penny’s blog for a series of posts on the evolution of nautical fashion – I highly recommend it, mateys!

I particularly love sailor and nautical fashions and accessories of the 40s, 50s and early 60s. I also love reproduction vintage sailor dresses from lines like Bettie Page Clothing and Stop Staring. I just can’t get enough! My wardrobe is bursting with sailor dresses, coats, sweaters, skirts, tops, lingerie, etc. On my shopping wish list for Summer is a sailor swimsuit. Several companies make cute ones, but I just can’t decide. Perhaps I’ll sew my own, or buy a plain navy swimsuit and ‘sailorfy’ it. Stay tuned for that!

Now, On to the Gallery Seafarers!

Here, you’ll find  sailor/nautical themed photos and pinups. Ahoy!

Off for some grog….

xoxo

Black Dahlia

6 thoughts on “Oh, It’s a Sailor’s Life for Me!

  1. Fun post!! I love your red sailor dress. It’s super cute!! Do you have a sailor cap? I’m also hooked on nautical wear. (I dated a sailor once just so I could wear his middy blouse!) Return soon! et smooth sailing! Theadora

    • I adore it too! ;0 Congrats on the 1000 followers to your blog. I tried to leave a comment, but it won’t work for some reason. 😦 I did retweet the giveaway, however.
      X
      BD

Leave a Reply

