Oh, for the Love of…Niagara!

Good afternoon lovelies!

‘Oh, for the Love of…Niagara’ is the title of today’s post. No, I don’t mean Niagara Falls, though I love them and may do a future post on that! I mean, Niagara the artist. Previously, I talked about other artists I adore like SHAG and Gil Elvgren. Now it’s time for some Niagara!

I discovered Niagara’s art about five years ago and have been a fan ever since. I have several of her prints, which I need to get framed so I can hang them properly. 🙂 

From Detroit, Niagara got her start illustrating in the 90s by designing album covers for the band she was in, Destory all Monsters. Since then her style has grown, as has her following. Her art has been exhibited in galleries around the world and is much sought after.

Why do I like Niagara?

I love everything about her art. The women, colour schemes, concepts, images and messages. The contrast of 30s/40s ladies with 60s pop art colours – love! I love how she draws her femme fatales usually with clever quips, very pulp comic-like. Everything has a film noir feeling, which I adore. Her illustrations are fun, punchy and quite catchy. Sometimes, when I’m in a certain mood, I feel a piece of Niagara art says it all. I guess she captures my mood at times! 

So, let’s have a look at some Niagara art!

I’ll let you guess which of the below best describes my current mood! 🙂 

(damn cute cherry outfit!)

Well dears, I could post Niagara illustrations all day, but I recommend you head over to her website for a better look!

Niagara Detroit

xoxo

Black Dahlia

4 thoughts on “Oh, for the Love of…Niagara!

  1. My first thought when I saw this title, was that you were talking about Niagara Falls, and the Canadian in me got all excited, but the pop art lover in me is just as excited about that in fact you were talking about the super cool artist, not the tried-and-true honeymoon destination.

    This post is just what I needed on on a grey Monday (that follows an absolutely rain drenched weekend), both in terms of the punchy colours and the brazen messages on these pieces.

    Thank you very much for both of your recent blog comments, dear gal – I hope that potato salad recipe turns out great for you if make it (I need to whip up a batch soon, too – maybe as part of our Canada Day bbq?).

    Wishing you a gorgeous, sunshine filled week!
    ♥ Jessica

  2. I love Niagara! I discovered her in a local gallery YEARS ago (and feel honored to have encountered originals there!). Her style is amazing, and of course I’m always delighted to see fellow Detroiters find such great success. Glad to see her work pop up on WordPress!

Leave a Reply

