Diner Meatloaf Recipe

This is my all-time favourite meatloaf recipe. It makes the most tender and delicious meatloaf you’ve ever had! I’ve made it hundreds of times and it always turns out amazing, even when I play with the ingredients. Sometimes I make this recipe minus the pork and it still turns out lovely!

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsps milk
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I make mine simply by toasting a slice of bread and chopping it finely)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp parsley, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • Bacon slices for top of meatloaf (optional)
  • Sauce: 3 tbsps mild blue cheese, 3 tbsps unsalted butter, 2 tsps chopped chives, squeeze of lemon juice

A note about the sauce: I have always detested blue cheese until I made this recipe. It tastes so good with the melted butter, that I’m no longer anti-blue cheese! However, when I make this I use more butter than blue cheese to cover the taste (a bit). I use approx. 3 tbsps blue cheese and about 4 tbsps. Play around until you get the right balance for your taste buds!

Now, let’s get cooking!

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease the meatloaf pan with butter.
  2. Beat the egg in a large bowl and stir in milk. Add the beef, pork, bread crumbs, parsley, onion, salt & pepper and cayenne and mix well.
  3. Transfer ingredients to meatloaf pan add bacon slices on top and put in oven.
  4. Cook meatloaf for 40-60 minutes. The time depends on your oven. Try 40 minutes and check and see if it’s done (should be firm). It takes 60 minutes in my oven, but all ovens are different!
  5. When the meatloaf is done, serve it hot with the butter and blue cheese sauce.

How to make the sauce:

Heat all sauce ingredients in a pan over low heat until the butter and blue cheese is melted. Stir and serve over the meatloaf.

Things to AVOID!

X Burning the meatloaf!

Avoiding Burning the Meatloaf! http://ladivacucina.blogspot.com

X Kneeling on the floor in vintage stockings holding the burnt remains!

Be sure to:

  1. Dirty as many pots and pans as you can!
  2. And make someone else do the dishes! ;0

YUMMY! ;0

You can find this and more great diner recipes in ‘More Retro Diner: A Second Helping of Roadside Recipes’, by Teri Dunn.

xoxo

Black Dahlia

Leave a comment