Oh, for the Love of…Circle Skirts!

1950s Circle Skirts, Advantage in Vintage

Happy Saturday readers!

As you know, I love 1940s and 1950s clothing and accessories. Everything from hats to dresses, to jewellery to shoes. But, what would a closet of vintage clothing be without some 50s circle skirts? Empty, just plain empty!

Circle skirts are exactly as the name suggests: skirts that form a circle (when laid flat). Circle skirts became very popular in the 1950s and are today considered a symbol of that era.

In 1947, American designer Juli Lynne Charlot created the first circle skirt with felt appliques in a Christmas theme. Charlot created more skirts for resale, which sold very quickly out of stores. She then went on to create circle skirts in a variety of themes (adding poodles) and the circle skirt trend was born!

1950s Poodle Skirt, GrackleFineArt

I love circle skits for two reasons:

  1. they look amazing on and create a great 1950s silhouette,
  2. and because I’m crazy about the novelty prints and fabrics that were used to make them. Something about novelty print circle skits just makes me smile! 🙂

50s Circle Skirt, http://davasion.com

50s Bird Circle Skirt, Ebay cork123

Black Dahlia's 50s Circle Skirt (corduroy with embroidery)

Circle skirts are easy to make, just be sure to take the correct measurements! There are lot of great online tutorials and instructions to help you. Do check out Kadidlehopper’s great Circle Skirt How-to and Elegant Musings post on how to make circle skirts. I myself, however, will be making my circle skirts with a vintage McCalls pattern (purchased online for $1).

1950s McCalls Circle Skirt Pattern, Black Dahlia's Scan

German Circle Skirt Pattern, Black Dahlia's Scan

German Circle Skirt Pattern, Black Dahlia's Scan

xoxo

Black Dahlia

10 thoughts on “Oh, for the Love of…Circle Skirts!

  1. Some lovely skirts there! I really like wearing circle skirts in the summer as the ones I have are floaty and cool. I’d love a warmer one like I imagine yours is since it’s made of corduroy.
    xxx

    • Hi Rosie! I’m with you there, wearing light ones in the summer feels and look great. I only have the one heavier one, but it is warm and even has a nice lining. Would love to see your skits! xxx

  2. Ha. I leave my computer open for ten minutes and my girlfriend exclaims that she has a new project thanks to your post! Let us know how your patterns work out!

  3. I only have one ‘genuine’ vintage circle skirt (which I bought for the hefty sum of £1). I adore it, but the lady who owned it before me had a teeny, tiny little waist. It fits me quite comfortably just as long as I don’t eat a lot during the day! 😛
    x

  4. eightyfivemab, I will let you know. ;0 And do tell me if your g/f makes a circle skirt!

    Amy, wow you got your skirt at quite the bargain! ;0 It would probably be fairly easy to alter the waistband if you ever needed to? I mean, a girl HAS to eat!

  5. Oh, how I love a circle skirt! They feel so feminine. Tell me you haven’t put one on, stood in front of the mirror and twirled – it’s the most fun you can have standing up. 😉

    Your blog is sweet – I really enjoy it.

  6. Hi there,

    I’ve just bought a pattern for a 1960 circle dress (Butterick B5748). The material I’ve ordered has a border print so that the design runs horizontally from selvedge to selvedge. It seems this design was popular for making skirts in the 50s. However, I’ve never made on before and, looking at the pattern, can’t imagine how the design will run along the hem. I haven’t got the fabric yet so I could be missing something. Hoping someone will reassure me that it is possible or explain how it works.

    Thank you,

    Rose

    x

Leave a comment