MAC Betty & Veronica Cosmetics Collection

Happy New Year lovelies!

I hope that all of you had a happy and healthy Christmas & New Year!

As you know from a prior post, Fashion Icons Part I, I am a huge Betty & Veronica fan. I’ve been collecting B&V comics, dolls and memorabilia since I was a child. In junior high, I even did a project on the ‘origin of Archie Comics’. I guess you could say I’m a devotee, which is why I’m so excited about the upcoming MAC Cosmetics Betty & Veronica Collection!

Are you a Betty or a Veronica?

The MAC Cosmetics Betty & Veronica Collection will be available in Canada on February 7th, just in time for Valentine’s Day! The collection includes: lipsticks, glosses, eye shadow quads, powder, mascaras, eye liners and a set of makeup brushes. I rarely get excited about MAC Cosmetics ‘limited edition’ series. The colours usually are the same or very close to previous products. However, this time is an exception. I am excited and truth be told, I don’t care if the colours are truly ‘new’! I’m just a sucker for the packaging!

Source: Elle.com

‘Ronnie Red’ MAC Cosmetics, source: cdn.specktra.net

Speaking of the packaging, I am very pleased that they selected classic, vintage Betty & Veronica images for the product tubes and packaging. How damn cute are they!? It just wouldn’t have been the same if they had used modern illustrations of B&V. MAC Cosmetics has certainly ‘sexed’ up our classic Betty, Veronica and Archie in the accompanying marketing images!

Betty & Veronica are wearing wigs and rubber! Hmmm. Also, Archie appears to be wearing several earrings? I personally would have preferred that the photos be classic and more vintage, but this is ‘marketing’ after all. And, yes, sex sells! Perhaps the S&M crowd will be lining up in droves to get some MAC B&V makeup!

B&V Collection

Ok, enough of my mild social commentary. On to the makeup!

‘Betty Bright’ MAC Cosmetics, source: cdn.specktra.net

When the collection comes out next month, I’ll review the products I purchase. Until then check out Glitter Is My Sunshine’s post and  Sweet Electric’s post for more photos and information.

So, are you a Betty or a Veronica? I guess I’m more of a ‘Veronica’ due to my dark hair and keen fashion sense. 🙂 Really, I adore them both and will buy items from both of their lines.

XOXO

Black Dahlia

10 thoughts on “MAC Betty & Veronica Cosmetics Collection

  1. Fun post!! Truth be bold, I also love the packaging and the wigs. Betty or Veronica? I have red hair. . .Were there any red haired gals in the series? I can’t remember! T. (Happy New Year!!)

    • I’m probably too late, but yes, there was! Her name was Cheryl Blossom and she was super wealthy and from a neighboring town called Pembrooke. She appeared in the 70’s, though, I think, and was everything Veronica was and more.

  2. This is too awesome for words! I was a massive Archie comic fan growing up (in 10th grade I even wrote an essay for English class about the parallels between my high school and Riverdale High) am a huge MAC fan today. I hope this collection sticks around for a while, because I’d truly love to add some of these items to my birthday wish list come July.

    ♥ Jessica

  3. Hi Catwalk, thank you and Happy New Year to you too! x

    Theadora, hi there & Happy New Year! There were three red heads: in the 50s there was Ginger, then Josie from Josie and the Pussycats in the 60s, then in the 80s Cheryl Blossom. Sadly, no makeup for redheads was included in the MAC collection. What an oversight! Maybe some of the colours will still be applicable?

    Jessica, you and I truly are ‘two peas in a pod’! 🙂 These MAC collections seem to disappear quickly as they are limited editions. If it comes out Feb. 14th here in CAN I doubt you’ll be able to find it past March, sadly. Early b-day presents!

    XOXO
    BD

  4. Pingback: An Edgier Archie? | Our Vintage Life

Leave a comment