Oh, for the Love of…Bed Jackets and Pajama Dogs!

Crochet Bed Sweater, http://www.besthandknitting.com

I love bed jackets and I love pajama dogs! I used to have two really sweet 1940s bed jackets, which have since gone to clothing  heaven. Ever since, I’ve been on the lookout for just the right replacements. I’m still empty-handed, but on the prowl. As for my pajama dog, I’ve had him since I was a teenager. You’ll find out more about pajama dogs and ‘Pinky’, the incredible pajama poodle, below.

What’s a Bed Jacket?

Bed jackets, or sweaters, are short housecoats worn in bed whilst reading or breakfasting. Bed jackets have been around as long as nightgowns, but seem to have gotten more popular in the 1920s/30s onward. Bed jackets come in various lengths, cropped and to the waist, and in a variety of materials and styles. I particularly love the chiffon lacy ones, quilted versions and the knit ones in bright colours.

Chiffon Bed Jacket, VintageOutlet

What’s a Pajama Dog?

Pajama dogs are stuffed animals that you can put your pajamas inside. Just unzip the zipper on their stomach and slide the pjs in. Kind of gross when you think about it! ;0 These pajama holders come in a variety of animals: dogs, cats, bunnies, tigers – you name it! As far as I’m aware, they started being produced in the 1930s and became very popular with teenage girls in the 1950s/60s.

1930s Pajama Dog, http://www.oldplank.com

1940s Pajama Dog, Jadees Antique Bear Shoppe

Pinky, the Pajama Poodle!

Pinky is my pajama dog. He’s a 1950s pink poodle pajama dog in excellent condition with the original tags. He’s been with me since I was a teenager.

Through the good times….

Pinky and Black Dahlia Party, circa 2006

And the bad times….

The Bad Times, date withheld

xoxo

Black Dahlia

5 thoughts on “Oh, for the Love of…Bed Jackets and Pajama Dogs!

  1. Great post! And that blue chiffon bed jacket is a favourite of mine on Flickr. We have exquisite taste!

    Loving the pajama dogs too! So thoughtful of them to be with you through the bad times! 😉

    • Thanks Catwalk! I really like your blog by the way.

      I love that sweet blue one. *sighs* I’m sure to find the right bed jacket for me, soon! ;0

      *lol* Yes, Pinky has stuck with me through and through, the old pal. ;0

  2. Pingback: Knitting Pretty: 1930s Bed Sweaters « Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

Leave a comment